John's Weblog

Idioms Using Money – 6 | March 10, 2008 | 8:56 pm

lay away money

MEANING: save money

EXAMPLE: I am trying hard to lay away enough money to buy a house.

layaway plan

MEANING: a plan in which one pays some money as a down-payment and then pays a little more when one can and the store holds the article until the full price is paid

EXAMPLE: We brought our furniture on the layaway plan at the store.

lay out

MEANING: spend, pay

EXAMPLE: I had to lay out a lot of money to get my car fixed so now I don’t have any money to go out.

live from hand to mouth

MEANING: live on little money

EXAMPLE: My friend has been living from hand to mouth on his savings from his last job.

live high off the hog

MEANING: have the best of everything, live in great comfort

EXAMPLE: My mother and father have been living high off the hog since they won the lottery.

loaded

MEANING: have lots of money

EXAMPLE: My uncle is loaded and always has lots of money.

lose your shirt

MEANING: lose all or most of your money

EXAMPLE: I lost my shirt in a business venture and now I have no money.

make a bundle

MEANING: make a lot of money

EXAMPLE: I made a bundle on the stock market and have since bought a house.

make a killing

MEANING: make a large amount of money

EXAMPLE: My sister made a killing when she worked overseas in the oil industry.

make a living

MEANING: earn enough money to live

EXAMPLE: If you want to make a good living it is necessary to get a good education.

 
make ends meet

MEANING: have enough money to pay your bills

EXAMPLE: I have been having trouble making ends meet because the rent for my apartment is too high.

 
make money hand over fist

MEANING: fast and in large amounts

EXAMPLE: My cousin has been making money hand over fist with her business.

 
money to burn

MEANING: very much money, more money than is needed

EXAMPLE: My aunt has money to burn and is always travelling somewhere.


Posted in Fast Speech

Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment